Posted by: MummyTravels | March 6, 2012

Journey no 1 – the Isle of Wight

Normal thought process when I’m planning a trip – do I need a visa, do I need any special jabs, can I fit it into my diary, can I afford it? And even though I loathe packing with a vengeance, I’ve even got pretty good at keeping a basic checklist stored away in my memory for last-minute travel. Admittedly a basic list which seems to assume at least half a dozen pairs of shoes are vital.

So my first pregnancy travel challenge was working out what my new pregnancy travel challenges were. At around eight weeks in, I was off to the Isle of Wight. Armed with emergency crackers for morning sickness.

On the face of it, everything seemed pretty straightforward. Even if I wasn’t on the UK mainland, I was only a short hop from Southampton, and despite the jokes about being stuck in the 50s, the island is hardly remote and off the beaten track.

Travelling with Tourism South-East, who were launching a new ‘Escape’ campaign, I didn’t even have to book accommodation – at the very cute cottages at the Garlic Farm. Even better, one of the options was heading to Goodleaf Tree Climb to be roped up and clamber through the tree branches for a great view of the countryside.

Ah. Except tree climbing isn’t high on the list of recommended activities for the first trimester, especially when I had to keep the news quiet. Plus mild internal panic as I realised I hadn’t wrapped my head around the food recommendations as I sat down to dinner at The Priory Bay hotel. Which cheese is on the banned list? (Not many as it turns out). How rare is too rare for meat? (Sticking to medium should be OK). Raw eggs? (No. Just no).

Fortunately I could distract myself by surreptitiously waving away the perfectly matched wines, as  morning sickness had completely failed to dent my desire for a huge glass of red.

But apart from that, the invisible bump didn’t slow me down as I explored the Donald McGill postcard museum, Osborne House, the Isle of Wight steam railway, and discovered a bit more about the island’s history.

So far, so good…

Leave a Reply

Categories

