Posted by: MummyTravels | March 6, 2012

Oil about stretch marks

My idea of packing light is only taking one outfit for every eventuality. So while my distinctly limited maternity wardrobe means there’s less chance of getting carried away on the clothes front, I do get to add one extra item to my suitcase – stretch mark oil.

I’ve been virtuously applying it every night, long before the bump even started to show, racking up a whole selection to battle stretch marks with. But while I love the contents of the ones I’ve tried, all the manufacturers seem to have produced something that won’t go in hand luggage – either it’s over 100ml (and decanting oil is a recipe for disaster – or for oil-soaked bags at least) or it’s in a glass bottle (another recipe for broken glass mixed with oil slick disaster).

So while the hunt goes on, here are my favourites to date:

  • Trilogy Certified Organic Rosehip oil – the helpful dropper cap means you don’t end up using more than you need, especially good at the beginning, and there’s no strong scents. Sadly in a glass bottle. £28.50. www.trilogyproducts.com
  • Burt’s Bees Mama Bee Nourishing Body oil – the lemony scent makes it one of my favourites, and it’s a lovely light oil. Almost perfect, just fractionally too big for hand luggage. £10.99. www.burtsbees.co.uk
  • Sanctuary Mum to Be Stretch Mark oil – a thicker oil, and the bottle has a slight tendency to dribble, but very moisturising. £10.25. www.thesanctuary.co.uk
  • Elemis Japanese Camellia oil – one of Victoria Beckham’s favourites, which isn’t a bad recommendation, considering she’s not short of options. Not the cheapest and not everyone will like the flowery scent, but top marks for luxury. £27.60. www.timetospa.co.uk

Given the amount of paraphernalia babies seem to need, I suspect this is only the beginning.

Responses

  1. Hello – love the blog! Great idea 🙂

    I’ve been using Palmers religiously for the past 15 years so am hoping that will stand me in good stead re stretch marks. However I’m now also massaging in coconut oil when my skin is still wet after a shower – smells lovely and it’s natural and cheap 🙂

    x

    • Thank you! 🙂 I am shamingly lazy when it comes to body lotion so having to make up for lost time – quick! Coconut oil is a great idea though, absolutely love the smell, so shall have to add it to my list.


Leave a Reply

Categories

