Posted by: MummyTravels | March 20, 2012

Toning up

There always seems to be a trade-off during pregnancy. On the upside, I’ve got ‘the Glow’ and my skin is genuinely looking better than it has at almost any other point in my life. On the downside, broken nights’ sleep caused by everything from crippling leg cramps to endless trips to the loo to being kicked awake in the small hours doesn’t always leave me full of the joys of Spring first thing.

Which is why Molton Brown are suddenly among my favourite people. After sending me several items from the new skincare range, I’ve become slightly addicted to the Pink Toronja Refining Toner which smells fabulously of pink grapefruit and is doing as much to wake me up as the single cup of ultra-strong coffee I’m allowing myself.

Apart from an over-enthusiastic pump system, which means that the first spray of toner goes all over the bathroom instead of the cotton pad (and I’ve experimented, there seems to be no way to avoid this) and the wince-inducing £25 price tag, it’s even got the balance between toning without completely drying out my skin. I’m also testing out the Vita B3 Eye Concentrate, £45, which promises a 39% decrease in the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles, to see if it’s as good on black circles.

I’ve since decided pink grapefruit is my secret weapon, although my second purchase – a Body shop soap, £2 and currently on 3 for 2 offer – won’t blow the baby budget.

Leave a Reply

Categories

