Posted by: MummyTravels | March 27, 2012

Lying, thieving, arguing workaholics – happy holidays!

Given how long we spend planning and looking forward to holidays, I’d like to think they’d be a high point of the year. But once you add in the pressure of getting everything done in time, and of it being the perfect break, it’s not so surprising the cracks start to show.

And surprise, surprise, it seems that kids don’t add to the stress-free atmosphere… People on family holidays have an average of 1.9 arguments, according to a new survey by Holidaysplease.co.uk, compared to 1.2 for married couples, and a mere 0.4 for honeymooners.

One reason is constantly fiddling with mobile phones – the top annoying habit that women think men have – while 60% check email at least one a day, one in five also make sure they keep their Facebook status updated, and one in 20 cast a sneaky eye over email between five to 10 times a day. I have a horrible feeling I’m right in the middle of that last category (although my excuse is that I’m working while I’m away anyway).

Still, I needn’t feel too ashamed – over a third pretend to be on honeymoon to get an upgrade (a tactic that didn’t work even on my actual honeymoon) and the survey of over 1,000 people found that if the hotel isn’t up to scratch, they’ll snaffle a souvenir as compensation. Toiletries and dressing gowns were top, but 3% packed a pillow and 2% pinched a shower curtain. Hand on heart, it never even occurred to me to want a hotel shower curtain. Although I may have liberated some shower gel…

And while I might not be as fluent as I’d like, I do make the effort to learn a few words of the local language – unlike a third of people who think speaking in English but with a foreign accent helps the locals understand them better.

Of course there is one final advantage of travelling en famille – 6% revealed they just get their children to speak a foreign language on their behalf. Cunning…

Leave a Reply

Categories

