Posted by: MummyTravels | April 12, 2012

Aisle give up the window seat

I love a window seat – watching the earth recede away, seeing the brilliant blue sky above the clouds (even when you’ve taken off in torrential rain), getting the views of unnamed countries and trying to match the mountains to the video map. But it seems that’s another things I’ve had, temporarily, to give up during pregnancy.

On the face of it, there’s no real reason why you can’t choose any seat on a plane for as long as you’re happy to fly. But while everyone else rushes to book the extra legroom and emergency exits, I’ve developed a sudden liking for being near the loos.

Yes, from my first pregnant flight at about three months, where I had to get up hourly, to my ever-increasing bump meaning an ever-shrinking bladder, I’ve been trudging the aisle far more than usual. Throw in the fact that I’ve been trying to drink even more water on the plane to stave off dehydration, and it’s either an aisle seat or hoping for a fairly understanding person next to me as I bob up and down like a jack in the box.

As I seem to have some kind of blind spot which means I regularly forget to pack my flight socks, at least I can comfort myself that all this prowling around the plane is doing its bit to offset DVT and puffy ankle syndrome.

And as this weekend marks my last pregnant flight before I’m grounded, perhaps I should make the most of only having my husband to worry about when we’re on board! Next stop, the Azores…

Responses

  1. And once your baby turns into a child they *always* want the window seat – grrrrrrrrrrrrrr.

    • Oh good point. Hmmm, should obviously have made the most of it while I could!

  2. I love the window seat too… maybe they should have allocated ‘pregnant lady’ spaces a short dash from the loos?! x

    • Absolutely! Especially for long flights – saves wearing a hole in the aisle carpet… 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

