Posted by: MummyTravels | April 13, 2012

The 50 holiday musts for kids

I’ve never hunted for frogspawn (to the best of my recollection), I’m not altogether sure what a grass trumpet is, and I suspect attempting to race snails would just end in disaster. Which means I’m not doing particularly well at some of the National Trust’s list of 50 things to do before you’re 11 ¾.

I have rolled down really big hills, gone sledging, tried to skim stones (badly), tried to climb trees (equally badly), thrown snow, investigated rock pools and even had a go at abseiling, although it terrified the living daylights out of my at the time.

But looking through the list, I really hope my child will be able to experience at least some of these. There’s something which makes eating food cooked on a campfire seem to taste far better than anywhere else, and it would be useful for someone in the family to be able to use a map and compass, as my navigational skills tend to rely on roads and city centres.

It’s a great reminder that while the world is far more open to kids these days than it was even when I was growing up, some pleasures are just as likely to be found in the back garden – building a den and running around in the rain – or on a staycation as abroad. After all, you just need sand to bury someone in it. No-one said it had to be volcanic. Or warm.

But to help parents along, 200 National Trust properties will be offering some of the activities from April 21, as well as recommendations on where to try the rest if you sign up at their website.

I’m just off to practise my owl calls…

Leave a Reply

Categories

