Posted by: MummyTravels | May 7, 2012

Oil about stretch marks: Part 2

If you’ve been reading the blog for a little while (and if so, thank you!), you’ll know I’ve been pretty virtuous about oiling up regularly to try to prevent stretch marks – and horribly dry itchy skin. As well as the first batch of body oils I tried, I’ve been sent a couple of others over the months.

  • Organic Pharmacy Stretch Mark Oil

With wheatgerm, rose hip, marigold, neroli and lavender, this definitely feels luxurious – the scent of essential oils reminds me vaguely of being in a spa, although I wouldn’t have wanted anything as fragranced during my first trimester. Rich without being sticky, it’s easily absorbed too. Sadly, despite being a suitable travel size at 100ml, it’s a glass bottle once again. And although the pump action is fine, it’s less useful when you’re operating it with slippery hands…
£19.96 for 100ml, www.theorganicpharmacy.com

  • BioOil

This is the classic – the one everyone recommends, the one with the research showing it can lighten existing scars, and one of the few without a horrendous price tag. It’s even available in a sensible 60ml plastic bottle that could go in hand luggage. But while the oil itself is fine, easily absorbed and nicely moisturising, I really didn’t like the scent. Whether it’s pregnancy hormones affecting my nose or not, it reminded me oddly of a cleaning product. But as it’s won 78 skincare awards, you might want to make your own minds up.
From £8.95 for 60ml, available in Boots, Superdrug and supermarkets. Full stockists at www.bio-oil.com

Not an oil but one of the first creams I’ve liked for my bump – most lotions don’t seem intensive enough to battle stretch marks, but I loathe the really thick creams that you need to rub away at for hours before they’re absorbed. This has almond, avocado and grape seed oils, as well as vitamin E, pro-vitamin B5 and calendula to soothe, and a light scent, which I liked. It melts into my skin and using it after a warm bath made it turn almost into a balm. It’s also left my skin lovely and soft, so nice if you’re not a fan of oils or to use as a morning top-up. And Maternicare are also responsible for revealing to me that skin has to stretch an extra two square feet on average during pregnancy. Eek!
£14.99 for 200ml, available from www.forum-health.co.uk

 

 

Image: Nanagyei/Flickr

Responses

  1. Keep that news about skin stretching 2 feet to yourself!

    • Scary stuff, isn’t it? Thought sharing the horror might lessen it a bit… 😉

  2. For what it’s worth a couple of dermatologists I know told me that when it comes to stretch marks, either you get them, either youd dont’ – it’s in the genes – so you’re lucky or not. I thought I was good for them as my mother was, so I religiously applied MammaMio Tummy Rub (love that stuff) daily but either it did the trick, either I’m one of the lucky ones – not a mark to be seen!

    • I suppose that makes some sense – but I can’t believe using an oil or cream makes no difference though. Fingers crossed either way…


Leave a Reply

Categories

