Posted by: MummyTravels | May 8, 2012

The greatest journey meme – The Mum Blog gets me thinking

It should be an easy question – what’s my most memorable, incredible journey so far. But I’ve been pondering for days after I was challenged to answer it on The Mum Blog. I’ve been to some fabulous places, with China, Madagascar, Laos, Lebanon and the South Pacific springing to mind as a few that really opened my eyes to the amazing places around the world.

But for somewhere I remember for the emotional experience as well as the destination? Well, there was my wonderful honeymoon in Brazil, where I explored the Amazon, saw one of the world’s most impressive waterfalls and the incomparable Rio de Janeiro, all with a huge smile on my face and my brand new husband beside me.

All contenders without a doubt (and that’s barely scratching the surface). But the surprise winner is one of the earliest trips I took aged 21, to Egypt.

I’d travelled before – family holidays to France, an Interrail trip with my then boyfriend around Europe, I’d even explored a lot of Germany during the year I lived there (though that wasn’t so much of a holiday). But as I finished my post-grad diploma and prepared to start my first ever grown-up job, I wanted to do something a bit more adventurous.

Egypt had always fascinated me, and when I couldn’t find anyone else who wanted to come along, I bit the bullet and decided to go alone. Which surprised even myself! Not completely solo, but given how shy I still was and my tendency to overthink everything, even a group trip with Explore was daring.

Needless to say, it was amazing. I saw the pyramids, no less breathtaking for their familiarity, and the fabulous temple of Abu Simbel. I sailed on a felucca up the Nile, relaxing under an awning in between stops at riverside temples, loved riding a camel and hated being in the saddle of a maniac donkey, tried my hand at haggling, plus my first scuba dive in the Red Sea – with an extremely dodgy instructor who nearly let me run out of air.

So it wasn’t all perfect – I ate dodgy food and discovered the wonders of Immodium, as well as learning to make do with holes dug in the river bank instead of toilets and encountering more than a few tourist scams. But I survived, I loved it and I’ve never looked back since.

What’s your most memorable and incredible journey so far – and why? I’m tagging Room For A Small One, Far From Home Mama and On The Luce but hope it inspires a few other people to join in. Don’t forget to link back to this blog and The Mum Blog and tag a few other bloggers of your own.

Image: whl.travel/Flickr

Responses

  1. I have never been to Egypt but this post really made me want to go there. Love the sound of your honeymoon, too 🙂 Thanks for sharing such great memories.

    • Egypt was amazing – would love to go back again (although not quite right at the moment). And Brazil too, I couldn’t have gone for a two weeks on a beach honeymoon. Thanks again for the inspiration!

  2. I’ve not been to Egypt either, probably because my GP husband tells me everyone who goes there ends up with the trots. I don’t think he appreciates this is all part of the experience!!
    Don’t fancy the maniac donkey or the scuba diving but would love to see the temples and pyramids.

    • Yup, I think it’s just one of those things that you can’t avoid, however careful you are. Wasn’t actually too bad until I had ice cream at the Red Sea (young & foolish…). Have ridden donkeys a few times and they’re all certifiable, although I do have a soft spot for camels. The history is just incredible though, I think everyone should see the Pyramids/Abu Simbel once…

  3. Thanks for tagging – Now I need to work out how to do it 😉

    • No problem – and just write your own post on your blog, based on the theme, with a link back to me and The Mum Blog. Intrigued to see what you choose and why!

  4. […] couple of weeks ago, Expat Baby Adventures asked me to write about my travel inspiration and Mummy Travels (via The Mum Blog) wanted to hear about my greatest ever journey. They’ve taken quite some […]

  5. […] Mummytravels, for whom Egypt was tops […]

  6. […] was your greatest journey? I was challenged to answer this by Cathy of Mummy Travels in a new blog meme and it’s a tough question. Greatest can mean so many things – longest, […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

