Posted by: MummyTravels | May 17, 2012

My new favourite magazine?

My shelves are groaning with unread (but going to read), half-read and repeatedly flicked through travel magazines – whether it’s gazing wistfully at gorgeous boutique hotels, planning with city guides or being inspired to head off the beaten track again with a new article, I’ve usually got a pile or two on the go. And now there’s a new addition – National Geographic Traveller Family.

I’m a big fan of the original magazine – and not just because I’ve written for it, although that obviously helps – as it’s a great mix of in-depth features, guides and genuinely useful info and news. So after missing the first issue of the new biannual Family version, which came out at the end of last year, I was determined to pounce when the second one came out a few days ago.

And I’m hooked. For months I’ve been maintaining that it must be possible to travel with kids, even if you have to readjust a few bits of your thinking. For months I’ve had a few knowing looks, raised eyebrows and occasional comments suggesting I might have to eat my words. (I might, I realise this). But at least I’m not alone – NGT Family is full of other parents, with kids of different ages, who are proving it’s not a completely insane hope.

A safari with kids? Why not – even versions to suit very young explorers. Active holidays? Yes to those as well, with suggestions for different ages. There’s also some fantastic kids’ guides to some of my favourite cities, including Amsterdam, London and Boston, not to mention tips on travel vaccines and insurance.

And if I do find myself struggling to venture beyond west London in the months to come, at least I’ll have something to entertain and inspire me…

 

 

Image: derPlau/Flickr

Responses

  1. Oh wow, I never knew this existed. Will definitely be looking out for it.

    • Definitely – think you can subscribe online as not sure how easy it would be for you to get hold of?

      • I’ll take a look. We have enough visitors that could bring a copy over anyway.


Leave a Reply

Categories

